Brief 2, Research Post #3 – Typography

To make something that is appealing, something that is attractive or interesting is one of the key aims of typography. Typography is all about arranging letters and sentences in a way that is appealing to the viewer, but also fits well with its surrounding design elements.

Some things to consider when selecting and introducing typography into my infographic include:

  • pairing: the font I use for my heading and body text will be different in the sense that my heading needs to attract the viewers attention, but also make sense in the context of my process. Fonts like Comic Sans, Times New Roman and the font you’re currently reading now, are all no-go’s. My body text however will need to be easy to read to consume the information I’m presenting. I also need to ask myself how these fonts work together, even though Times New Roman may be an appropriate body text, it lacks energy, something I want to create in my infographic.
  • leading: something I hadn’t even thought about until researching typography was the size between lines. One website suggests 1.5 times the seize of the text when dealing with large type and then obviously slightly smaller for smaller text. I feel like there isn’t really a hard and fast rule for this one however, and will probably just be whatever I think works well depending on the font I go with, but is something to keep in mind
  • tracking: another one I thought I’d include is the space between letters. You can immediately notice the difference tracking makes by the image below (photo 1). Larger spaces make the word stand out more and give it a title-like finish when compared to the previous two
  • hierarchy: traditionally, titles are almost always bigger than the other elements on the page, after all, they’re the title right? I find this point quite interesting as by combining colour, weight and placement there are various different arrangements I could include without necessarily making the title drastically big, but still creating the same impact as if it were (see photo 2). Example 2 is a good use of this principle, both headings are the same size, but you can easily tell which is the title and which isn’t by a smart use of colour. This could come in handy if I need to create more space in my infographic.

Photo 1                                                                                                              Photo 2

Photo 2

6

Sources from:

http://webdesign.tutsplus.com/articles/choosing-the-right-font-a-practical-guide-to-typography-on-the-web–webdesign-15

Leave a Reply

