Brainstorming and the like.

I’ve been toying with a couple of different ideas over the past week, below are a couple of them.

1. How electric guitars work.

Probably my favourite idea so far, I really like the look of this graphic I found on the anatomy of a Les Paul.

The angling of the guitar is something I would probably do similar in my own version as it could be quite useful when directing the eye around the piece. There doesn’t seem to be a lot of really eye-catching infographics on how electric guitars work either after doing a quick google, they’re all pretty basic and more just pointing out the different elements of the guitar like the graphic above. I would need to think more in-depth about how I’d present the necessary information within the piece as well as fitting in other elements such as an amp and the different frequencies an amp producers in order to visualise the info.

2. How to be a modern day superhero.

I like this idea as well and thought I could probably have a bit of fun writing it as well. A lot of the infographics for superheroes you see are mostly about the price of being one then/now like the one below. I could incorporate different statistics in the infographic, taking a selection of superheroes and then looking at the similarities/differences in the tropes they assume, such as costumes with capes/no capes, living in dense urban centres, origin stories etc. The only problem I could see with this one is maybe getting/using photo images, which I know we’re not supposed to think about until later but it has crossed my mind.

3. How the Beatles changed Rock and Roll.

This one could be quite an ambitious graph, but it could come out looking really cool. I’ve done some quick sketches and thought about including statistics or data within the piece, like turning the zebra crossing stripes from the Abbey Road photo into a graph (on representing what, I’m not sure yet). I could also represent the Beatles using their different instruments, outfits and eras. I remember seeing this how to draw them a few months ago (http://www.theguardian.com/childrens-books-site/gallery/2014/sep/27/the-beatles-fab-four-mick-manning-brita-granstrom-how-to-draw) which could come in quite handy if I decide to draw them myself and then trace over them in illustrator, since the facial expressions all set them apart.

Leave a Reply

