Summary

First up is the use of an hourglass within the image. I wasn’t actually able to get hold of an actual hourglass, they’re surprisingly difficult to come by, so I used a glass around the house. I setup the shots and took several with the glass both empty and full of water in a mixture of lighting settings. Photographing the glass was actually a real challenge, there always seemed to be something reflecting off it. I used the clone stamp technique we were shown in class to alter and erase the obviousness in some of the more stubborn reflections which worked really effectively I think when compared to the original images. I also used layer masks when cutting out the glasses which were particularly effective as opposed to erasing when trying to make both ends of the glass meet. Another technique was slightly altering the perspective of the bottom hourglass with the free transform tool to make it more inline with the top and also give myself my room to play with the waves and buildings.

Because the scale of the buildings are quite small, I had to be particular in the way I would photograph the waves. In my research I found that depending on the scale, waves react and look very differently. I had to take quite a long shot then to show the calmness of the ocean altogether, making sure to also think about perspective. I used blending techniques learnt in class to blend the waves and the hourglass, saving me time by not needing to apply a layer mask and hide the rest of the ocean outside of the glass. I also created a slight ripple effect in the water in the top half of the hourglass, using render and distortion filters to make it more photorealistic and add a further element.

For the buildings I converted several to smart objects, a technique used from class, to safeguard myself in case I wished to change the scale another time so they wouldn’t come out blurry and distorted. Layer masks were particularly effective in hiding the surroundings to the buildings, especially on the skytower and town hall buildings as they had a variety of shapes in varying widths. If I accidentally cut in too much when I hid parts, I could simply switch between colours and reveal that part again. To make the photo more realistic I also attempted to introduce waves around the buildings, clashing and crashing together. For this I just took out sections I thought might fit from a photo I had taken several months ago on holiday and used the foam spray from the waterfall and duplicated the image several times for each building, another technique used in class.

I adjusted the colour of the image in conjunction with background image choice to reflect almost a grimy, dirty look/feel in order to effectively communicate meaning. Brightness and hue saturation were also crucial to make the hourglass appear as if they were the same object, using layer masks to bring out the colours of the bottom glass more so than the top.

My communication objectives have then been communicated with the hourglass representing time running out, instead of sand we see water flowing through as a result of accelerated climate change effects. With the water drop also acting to direct the viewers gaze towards the city. The viewer can further relate to the image when seeing Auckland buildings such as the skytower and town hall partway submerged underneath. The acceleration of climate change is further represented by exaggerating water levels rising in reflection, impacting upon the viewer more so as a result. The overall grimy and dirty look, reflected in the green of the background, further communicates the objectives of the consequences of this, it’s not a situation anyone wants to be in.

Leave a Reply

